Deal analysis - Figuring out the first investment

1 Reply

Hey BP, so I'm fairly new to the real estate game but I am extremely eager to learn any and all information possible. I am having trouble seeing the big picture when it comes to deal analysis so any help would be much appreciated. I am currently in a situation where one of the markets/areas I am looking in, I have enough cash (private lending/line of credit) to purchase properties with all cash offers. This area is not necessarily the nicest area but it does have success as rental property. Another area I am interested in, a little bit more up scale, has great sfr and multi-family duplexs, however, these deals are looking like they would be more of the conventional 20% down situation due to the higher priced market. My goal right now is to generate a long term portfolio of Rental properties so I am trying to decide if it's better to do an all cash purchase, which could lead to potential BRRRR style growth, verses going the traditional route with the possibility of house hacking as an option with the duplexes. Any advise is welcomed and if more details are needed I can provide those, thanks!

Hey Cameron, welcome to the game!  It seems like you may be having less of a hard time with the deal analysis, and actually grappling with what type of property you may prefer to invest in.  Over time, as you purchase different properties you may find what you purchase appealing, and stick with it, or appalling, and move on to a different type or asset class.  Check out a response I gave to another aspiring investor on purchasing in lower asset class areas: https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/669/topics/49...