Hungry Newbie investor looking to get started in Philadelphia

8 Replies

I am a college student living in the Philadelphia area. Have been very interested in real estate investing for a few years now. Spent the last couple years working, reading, and listening to podcast about real estate. I am starting to look for my first deal, and very interested in possibly house hacking for my first investment. Any suggestions for me? I would love to hear anyone's input. Thank you. 

Step 1 move to Pittsburgh, just kidding lol. 

Find a nice duplex in your area where one side pays the mortgage for both sides and live for free. You might want to call some for rent ads in your area and see if any of those people will sell you a house.  You can find burned out landlords and people who wanted to sell but failed this way. Either of those groups are ripe for a creative finance offer which will cashflow without you having to make much if any down payment.

@Cameron Jordan House hacking a great way to break into real estate investing. As @Josh Caldwell stated living in one side while you rent out, and hopefully have, the other unit(s) pay your mortgage is a win-win situation. However I would always suggest to seek out a Realtor in your area that has a proven track record working with Investors and specifically with multi-family units. I say this for 2 reasons, 1) they should know what areas will likely provide you good returns and have strong rental markets and 2) you will always want an advocate you can trust, that is bound by law and a code of ethics from NAR (The National Association of Realtors). I wish you the best in your endeavors.

@Josh Caldwell and Gary Swank thanks a lot for your input. As a new guy hearing some advice from people who have been in the game keeps the positivity up. 👍🏽

@Cameron Jordan

First that you need is to make sure you qualified for a loan and have financing lined up for your first deal.