Can I And How To Use a SIMPLE IRA In Real Estate Investing

4 Replies

Hi my name is Bob from Maine , im new to real estate investing. I have been doing alot of studying for the past 6 months, following all of Robert Kiyosaki stuff. I have worked the same full time job for 16 years at a lumber mill and want out of the rat race! I have poor credit from going through bankrupcy about 10 years ago and havent really done anything to fix it. And cant seem to save money. I do have a Simple IRA with the company I work for , its not alot $8000 I think, Is there a way that I can use this as some kind of a down payment towards my first rental property and then get a private invester for the rest? And if so how do I go about doing so ? Thanks Bob

@Bob Edwards

While and IRA can be reconfigured to invest in real estate, it is purely as a means to diversify that tax-sheltered retirement plan, not a way for you to benefit personally in any way. With $8K, you will find it extremely difficult to execute deals that stay within the IRS rules against self-dealing and generate enough return to justify the cost and effort associated with establishing such a plan.

An option that may work, assuming your employer plan allows you to transfer funds to another institution while still working with them, is to move to a self-directed IRA custodian and evaluate investments such as crowdfunds or peer-to-peer lending.

@Bob Edwards

I agree with @Brian Eastman moving the simple to a Self-Directed IRA would allow you to make use of the funds. Any investment you purchased using the funds would be owned by the IRA. You can structure a deal where you own a precentage of the property and another (non-prohibited) investor owns the remaining percentage.

As Brian also mentioned, you could start out by loaning the funds to another investor as $8,000 is difficult to find good deals in real estate.