Work on credit before getting started in real estate?

2 Replies

Hi, everyone. My name is Gabriela and I'm from Houston, TX. My questions are, do you need credit to start wholesaling? Do you need credit to acquire a hard money loan?

I have money saved up, but I am having a difficult time deciding what to do with it. I would like to spend it wisely on something that will be beneficial for my future. Should I start wholesaling to jumpstart my career in real estate or establish credit by buying a computer (I'm a student)? 

Shipping container homes intrigue me and my goal is to take on that kind of a project some day. I have enough to purchase a shipping container and I could establish credit that way as well. However, I understand that is a whole different ball game that I should probably hold off on.

Any tips/advice? I would really appreciate some help. I'm trying to figure out how to make things happen instead of believing I can't right now. 

Hi @Gabriela Martinez , I applaud your ambition. You're starting to think like an investor. However you appear to still be influenced by the "employee think" mindset that you were raised with ("get good grades so you get into a great college which will allow you to get a good job...."). Let me recommend that you keep your mind open.

You won't need credit to start wholesaling, but if you have good credit, use it. Hard money lenders won't care very much about your credit. They will be more interested in your business model and your experience. They'll be more comfortable with a proven business model and a solid track record of success. Good thing you won't need hard money to wholesale.

You may find it quite difficult to get a HML (hard money lender) interested in shipping container homes. They're kinda weird! You'll likely find more success in mainstream homes. You're gonna wanna invest your time, money and effort into something you can duplicate over and over.