New investor and beginning with an out of state owner occupancy?

6 Replies

Hello, I am very new to real estate and I had a general question to see if anyone has done this previously or if it is a good idea at all. Where I am located and the nearby areas single family houses are very high priced. Well at least out of my range for a beginning investment house for 80k-150k, In California near the Sacramento area this really isn't possible unless the houses are in rough shape in a bad location/neighborhood which would be a terrible investment. I have researched a few cities out of state that I believe have a great market and are exactly in the price range of houses I need to be able to purchase one and be able to gain equity with the house. The thing is it would be out of state which makes me unsure if this would be a great idea to do starting off, although I feel it would be one of the only choices I have if I want to be serious about investing and fully go for it.   Is this a feasible idea to consider if planned well? Such as beginning to network with trustworthy agents and contractors in the city I choose and studying the local market etc? 

Any advice is appreciated! Thanks in advance.

@Ryan McGlasson I am also in the Sacramento region and felt the same way when i first wanted to get into the game and was making my plan. The first step is, what type of investing do you want to do? I originally wanted to do buy and hold, try and find something on the MLS and found that anything that needed work or was priced low went within hrs. It is extremely difficult to find something on the MLS without tons of offers, leaving us as new investors nothing or overpaying. I have switched my focus and don't bother with the MLS anymore and have now focused on finding something off market. Maybe trying to do some sort of marketing and finding an off market deal is an option to find within the area?

@Alex Rodriguez