How an LLC Works for a HouseHack?

7 Replies

@Linda Weygant

I have a couple of questions and know exactly the right person to ask so I've tagged Linda Weygant a CPA that was on podcast #244. Definitely my favorite podcast by far not sure if that is because I'm an accountant as well. Highly recommend everyone to listen to podcast #244. I've learned the most from that podcast. Whelp I've started this discussion since I'm sure other people have the same exact questions.

It is known you can NOT deduct a 100% of the expenses if you are house hacking. This is because a portion of those expenses are considered personal expenses and not business expenses. My question is why can't the formation of an LLC which the property is owned by take 100% of the deductions while you pay the same amount of rent as other tenants? Obvious reasons for this is to deduct all expenses and not do a pro-rata allocation of expenses. I believe the only disadvantage of this is that the amount of rent you pay to the LLC will be included in your taxable income once the income is allocated back to you. That being said what would you recommend structure wise for someone who is househacking? I want it to be an LLC cause it makes everything more official when you look for financing down the road. In addition, keeping separate books were 100% of the expenses are deductible will be a lot less work.

Lastly any other additional advice is more than welcomed. Please everyone feel free to chime in to provide some advice.  

*I am not a lawyer or tax expert.* That being said, I'm pretty sure the IRS doesn't care whether you own the property personally or an LLC owns the property and you're getting the benefit of it. And titling to an LLC will likely preclude residential financing, which is half the benefit of house hacking. Keep in mind that house hacking provides many of the same liability protections of an LLC to begin with. I don't really see the advantage of going the LLC route.

Thanks,

Chaz