How does Hard Money Lending work?

12 Replies

How does hard money lending work? What are something do you look for when choosing a hard mo

They can be found. Depends on what YOU put into the deal. Rates and terms vary widely.

Your holding costs are going to be much higher with a hard money lender and the term of the loan is going to be much much shorter. Some people on here really seem to push the idea of the high-risk hard money lenders for newbies because their requirements are much more relaxed. So, that part is nice. But the risk is very high because the note is usually 12 to 18 months long. At least, that's how I feel about it. I may be way off there. But I'm very new to this. Also, it seems like there's a lot of companies out there that claim to be hard money lender that could be scamming you. Just be careful and do your research. Don't ever hesitate to ask people on here if they have to use a certain company you're looking at.

@Demeko Morgan The provided link earlier is a great resource. I work for a "hard money" lender but we really position ourselves of more of a bridge between traditional hard money and crowd funding. I know in a previous post the words "high risk" were used but the risk are really  the same as a traditional mortgage just a way shorter time line as previously mentioned (with my company anyways).