21 years old, $30,000...where to start

14 Replies

Hello BP community, I am new to the world of real-estate investing but I eager to get started. I will be graduating college this spring and have a stock portfolio of $30,000 that want to use for my first deal. I live in the Westchester NY area which I realize may not be ideal for my first investment especially with only $30,000 but I am interested to see if anyone may have some ideas of how and where to get started in this exciting journey. Ideally I would like to get started in small multi families and could be interested to an FHA loan under the right circumstance. Look forward to hearing from this awesome community!

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Best, 

Richie 

You have a fair amount of capital, you should save that up in case you need it for personal expenses throughout your business journey. I would suggest start saving for your down payment and reserves for your property. 

"21 years old, $30,000...where to start" is a little vague. We don't know what your education is looking like so far. If you have no knowledge I would recommend starting there. If you know exactly what you want & why you want it, then I would recommend to start looking at your chosen markets to start analyzing properties until you're comfortable with the amount of capital you have to start.

Good Luck!!

Sorry, your post with the details didn't load when I replied. I'm also starting with small multifamily properties and I live in California. The numbers here don't make sense so I started to look at different markets in different parts of the  country. 

That's where I would recommend to start. Look at fast growing cities, population growth, etc. If you have any questions feel free to let me know!

@Richie Pace I'm from westchester ny as well, I know some investors what do turnkey rentals out of state and it works great for them! If you want to talk some more, feel free to pm me!