• Real Estate Agent
  • San Antonio, TX
Votes |
College or Real Estate?

Michael Guzik
  • Real Estate Agent
  • San Antonio, TX
Posted Dec 1 2017, 11:56

Hey guys I'm 19 years old and am wondering what I should do with my life. I graduated 4th in my class out of 678 students, not because I was the smartest but because I worked 10x harder than the rest of the class. I didn't party and was always in tutoring to be honest I am probably the "dumbest" kid out of those top 10 but persistence is one of my strong suits. Since I was in the top 1% a lot of people including my parents wanted me to go to school to become a doctor or "something successful". However I didn't want to and I didn't want to waste my parents money and drag them down further in debt doing something that I didn't like and that wouldn't help me get where I want. I went to a junior college and got my associates in business for free through their presidential scholarship. Right now I am working at a real estate management company that I was lucky to get into because my Aunt works there but I found out about this job right before this past semester so I had to cancel my classes and not go to school this semester. My parents aren't very supportive of my real estate dreams and my thirst for financial freedom. I love them but they have a middle class mindset of go to school, get a job and retire at 65 after working that job for 40 years. I'm making 25k which I know isn't a lot and won't help me for long. My problem is that I obviously need capital to get into real estate. Even with house hacking I will need income to purchase future properties and other things. I would love to work for a business or do something real estate involved or entrepreneurial in nature to make good money but I haven't quite seen a way to do this so far for me. My parents are pushing me to go to college so I am here trying to think if I do go to college what degree should I pursue? I don't plan on working that job my whole life(but wh