BRRRR with a friend: LLC or no?

10 Replies

So, I have a friend (the Money) who I want to start investing with in BRRRR SFH deals. I'm wondering what the upsides and downsides of forming an LLC together for investing are? Also, does anybody have investing partner contracts / paperwork? I'd like to see what other people are doing contract-wise so that I can come up with one that makes sense for us. Thanks so much in advance!

-joe

Best advice you can get on this is: Make a very transparent list of goals and rules. Both of you sign it and date it. Your rules and goals are going to be personal to your needs. Just being honest with each other and upfront will go further than anything else. I have a LLC partner in RE that is a long time friend. It can work really well. Good luck

Thanks so much, Ted! I'm hoping to also understand the upsides and downsides of using an LLC for BRRRR deals, since I'm new to this. I'm assuming that most lenders won't lend to LLCs, correct? I'm not sure how the purchasing is handled if you're running an LLC... Cheers!

If you plan on doing this just once, it's probably not necessary to have an LLC. But if you're going to be buying several, I would definitely create an LLC, and like Ted said, make clear rules and be really open and honest with eachother about what is expected.

I'm wondering the same question - if not going the LLC route, are there any standard partner contracts examples available to ensure that both parties are protected in case the deal goes south?

Ok, I understand that having an LLC will protect us, but I don't understand how to acquire properties as an LLC. If we form an LLC, one or both of us still apply for mortgages under our names, right? Thanks!