Interested in getting Real Estate License

10 Replies

Hi, I'm Chris and live in the San Antonio area.  

I currently work full time in IT, however I was thinking about starting a side-hustle and that was purchasing real estate for passive income.  I will admit, I don't know much about doing this.  I've started to read blogs on this website along with Brandon Turner's book. 

I was thinking about making up for this lack of knowledge was to get a real estate license, to help me have a better understanding.  Just wondering how long it typically takes to get something like this and to maintain it?  Also would it be transferable if I were to move out of state, say to California?

thanks

Hi Chris,

I also work in IT and getting my real estate license. I just registered for three classes at my local California community college so I can be prepared to take the licensure exam. It's a great idea to get a license by taking classes either online at Kaplan or First Tuesday. You can start or finish as early as you want. Each state has its own laws so I'm not sure if it's transferrable. 

I was just looking at properties in TX to invest in! It's just so competitive here in CA.

Good luck :)

Hi Chris,

I'm not a real estate agent, but I also looked into these requirements.

Getting your real estate license and can be both time consuming and pricey. I decided to wait until I'm start doing more deals first before I get it. 

Here's the info you're looking for. Real estate agent licensing is managed through the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC).  I beleive it's 180 hours of education courses before you take the test.

https://www.trec.texas.gov/become-licensed/sales-a...

https://www.trec.texas.gov/renew-license/real-esta...