Starting out with odds against me

11 Replies

Hey everyone I'm a newbie and don't really know anything about real estate except for the few articles that I've read and the ultimate beginners guide on the site. I'm really interested in getting into investing but haven't got a clue how to start and having the feeling of the odds being stacked against me. I've move to a new place for work in Alberta, Edmonton and don't really know anyone but was able to pay off all my debt. Thing is I have a really poor credit score and don't know of any family having money to lend to even start on looking at homes or anything. I've started saving but I don't think it will help if my credit score is shot. So I guess my question would be can I work around my credit score and still get something like sellers financing or should I just try to repair my credit score and how do I go about doing that. I'm interested in multifamily homes and the buy and hold strategy if that would help with the situation. Thanks in advance everyone 

Having poor credit or no money doesn't prevent people from doing investing.  Learn more about subject tos (but not sure you can do in Canada because of the laws), Lease Options and other seller financing.  This site has a ton of good information and people who will continue to keep you on track and learning.  Once you get the cash and credit up you will have even more options.Welcome to the world of investing! 

Wendy Patton, Real Estate Agent in MI (#222005)
248-394-0767