To-be investor looking for starting out advice

6 Replies

Hey BP!

My name is Jon and I have been lurking around the site for about half a year now. I got interested in investing in general after basically googling "how do people get rich" I think haha. That led me to real estate investing and then listening to the BiggerPockets podcast while working all last summer. I have attended two meetups hosted by Deren Huang here in Tulsa and really enjoy meeting and listening to locals stories! My main goal right now is to achieve early financial freedom. I will start this by doing househacking in either a single family with friends or a small multi.

Here is where I have a question, right now I am in my final semester to receive my Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering from Oklahoma State University. I will graduate without any student debt or any other debt for that matter. I would also like to mention that I am a frugal person; enjoying Set For Life by Scott Trench so far. What I want to know is if I should be looking to move somewhere like Texas where my income will not be taxed; plus engineers seem to make more in Texas generally. I am not sure if Texas is a good idea because of the high property tax. I do not know the Tulsa Oklahoma all to well anyhow so there seems to be little reason for me to spend time learning this market if I can begin learning others now.

Hey Jon!

I didn’t see it when I clicked originally but glad I did see your post. I studied mechanical engineering myself but graduated in may of 2016. I’ve been out a bit already, time flies!

I went to another school in the B12 (in central Texas) so I won’t hold the fact that you went to OSU against you (kidding).

You can move to Texas if you want, great job market. I lived and worked in dfw for my first year after school. Rentals there will be more expensive. Property taxes are high but no state income tax is nice too. Tennessee also doesnt have income tax (just FYI)