Do I start an LLC as my first order of business?

15 Replies

I am just getting started in real estate investing in western Pennsylvania. Should I start an LLC as my first order of business. I have a full time job but will be investing in real estate full-time with in 5 years.

No this is likely useless if you’re doing buy and holds

No, you can safely invest in real estate with properties in your name and adequate insurance. There are certain scenarios where having an LLC taxes as an S- corp has some tax advantages, but for starting out it's not necessary.

Unless you have a high net worth or  valuable assets you need to protect probably not. If you're going to do 20% down and 30 yr conventional loan........ and have a mortgage or rent your primary then you're probably fine using umbrella insurance.

Now, if you had a million in the bank and paid off primary and were looking to buy up some 100 unit complex in the hood it'd be a different convo.

A LLC is not necessary until you grow to the point of having employees.

@Bret M Rankin No. Don't get an LLC because that what "people say." Understand the purpose of the LLC. BTW, it is not a magic pill that protects you from being sued, as some like to believe. Acquire some assets, then work on asset protection. Not the other way around.

Thanks for the answers. My father in law runs a development company and is suggesting the LLC. I guess you are all suggesting proper insurance until a level of growth and net worth?

I intend to flip homes as well as invest in rentals.  

There’s nothing wrong with an LLC, but some people focus on the LLC and not buying a house. You’ll probably buy your first buy and hold with a conventional mortgage, which means you’ll buy it in your own name.

Flips, you might be able to do under an LLC, but frankly, it’s probably not going to help.

I agree with everyone else. Get a good deal and get some insurance.

Originally posted by @Bret M Rankin :