FHA and First time home ownership Newby questions

8 Replies

Hello, I'm new to BP and have a few questions. I've asked a couple of realtor but they didn't know.  So here they are:

First, my wife and I purchased a home with an FHA loan a couple of years ago, we then refinanced it into a conventional loan. Do we qualify for another FHA loan? I had one realtor tell me that as long as the new home is more than 100 miles away I should be able to but that seems weird to me.

Second, since my wife is not on our house title or on the loan will she qualify as a first time home buyer?

Thanks in advance everyone! We are getting ready to purchase our first investment property in the fall and want to see what options we have. Thanks again! 

@Harjeet thanks a lot for your reply! do you think my wife is considered a first time home buyer  though? Like I said the house is under my name only and so is the loan.

@Martin Gonzalez According to the FHA guidelines, you can acquire another FHA mortgage as soon as you pay off the other FHA mortgage. So since you refinanced into a conventional, that means the previous FHA loan was paid off so you should be fine.

@Martin Gonzalez FHA only allows one loan at a time. Since you re-fi'd into a conventional loan, you are good to go for another FHA loan.

If your wife is not on the house title or on the loan, assuming she can qualify for the FHA loan, she, too, is good to go. A lot of people use this strategy to max out how many loans they can get.

To my knowledge, FHA loans stipulate owner occupation. Many people will tell you that there is no stipulation how long you have to stay in your home. For e.g. you could get an FHA loan and move out after 6 months. I thought the same. But on an earlier post a member had clearly shown that one would have to stay for a year to ensure there are no issues.