Best duplex\triplex\multi loans?

17 Replies

Hello, im Gabriel from Enfield,CT currently on the search for a duplex/multi around CT or MA as im more familiar with MA. This would be my first purchase/investment with my fiancée..i got pre approved already for fha 225k thinking of getting a 203k loan as well, planning on occupying and renting refi to conventional loan once i have enough equity then take another fha loan and do the smae process if all goes well...i would like some help with some questions that come to mind since im brand new to all of this. Question 1: Is there a no moneys down or 1% down payment loan i can get a hold of or is the fha 3.5% the limit? Question 2: Would you recommend renting out to family for your first tenant starting out Question 3: I’ve taken a state first time home buyers class and been certified, has anyone got any help whatsoever from a certification like that for a duplex? Looking forward to hear from yall...i really need alot of guidance and im willing to do anything to get ahead. Already looking forward to some local seminars\workshops...anyone know of any good ones please let me know. Thanks

@Gabriel Feliciano

Welcome to bp! 

1. FHA or 203k is great option and its great you are pre approved!

2. I would not rent to family...... It may seem like a good idea, but I would not do it. If you inherit tenants, you will want to screen them and see if you want to keep them (if they are a tenant at will). 

3. You can attend a local REIA, take a look at meetings on meetup ,com as well. The first time homebuyer class will be helpful, and you can also look into a landlord class (if you are self managing).

@Steve Bracero

I guess im more willing to chose family over strangers because Im nervous of the outcome due to all these Massachusetts tenant protection \horror stories I’ve heard of.

I guess i will check that site out, and Yes i will be taking the land-lording workshop next month! Thanks for the feedback.