College Student Looking to get started out of market

8 Replies

Hello, I am a brand new REI and am excited to get started.

I am a young guy still in college. I am studying to become a Software Engineer (and hopefully someday design software for REIs). I have secured a few internships and have saved about 25,000. Additionally I have a job lined up that will pay 105,000 per year as soon as I graduate.

I'm looking to get started investing but I am nervous to begin out of market. I feel like out of market is my only option for a rental property due to the high price of most California properties. I'm not sure how to find locations other than poking around on Redfin. I hope to set this up so that I can continue my investing by house hacking when I move to my new job location upon graduation and begin building my portfolio.

If anyone could provide advice for finding good property managers that are far away from me and locations as well. I originally planned to join meetup groups and get recommendations from those, but that doesn't seem possible when trying to find something out of market.

@Samier Mahagna I’m surprised no one has commented on this post.

When are you graduating? I’m also an engineer (Mech E) and now have 3 rentals out of state (Cleveland and Memphis). I can walk you through what I’ve done so far if you want, just PM me.

With your starting salary and savings, assuming you have little or no student debt, you’re going to be in a fantastic spot to begin. Depending where you’re working (cost of living taxes etc), and if you live average or somewhat frugally, you could likely buy 2-3 properties in an out of state market in one year.

Thank you for responding @Caleb Heimsoth . I am graduating December of this year (possibly in May depending on if the job will give me any incentive for taking an extra semester for learning big data).