How difficult was it to qualify for FHA loan?

8 Replies

My plan is to start investing late this year/early next year. I graduated in December and am trying to build capital right now. My parents are willing to lend me money as well. I work three part time jobs and can't look for full time until after my one month trip abroad this summer to see my grandmother in her failing health.

After that, I will start looking into conventional or FHA loans when I find a full time job. I'm concerned that this one month gap and part time jobs will make it more difficult to get a FHA loan as it seems they want to see stability in income and employment.

Would I have to wait after working another year full time to even consider looking at loans? I guess I'm just being impatient to start ASAP. There is a multifamily property 5 minutes from my parent's house that would be a great first buy but right now I'm not ready.

I'm wondering how students right out of college were able to qualify for the loan. I read that the lenders consider your time in school as well. Any insights and advice would be greatly appreciated.

@Sarah T. , I've asked similar questions about getting started. The responses I get typically suggest finding a partner. Partners reduce your risk, reduce the amount put down on the loan since the down payment is split between the two of you, and increases your chance of success when partnering with someone with more experience. you can find partners here on BP, at "meet ups", or at Real Estate Investment organizations. Good luck. Let us know how it turns out!

Of you are in a hurry to buy, how about moving up your one month summer trip to asap and then you can start working full time sooner? If she is in failing health it is better to travel now than to wait anyways.

I'd look into a Fannie home ready loan rather than fha when you're ready. Fha has higher costs and less homes, especially older starter homes, will pass an fha appraisal.