Getiing started buying first rental property

5 Replies

HI my name is Colin I'm 21 I live in Canada and  I'm brand new to Bigger pockets and I'm looking to buy my first property sometime in the summer but until then I'm just trying to educate my self as much as possible. My plan to getting started is to buying a single family house 4-6 bedrooms for around 200-300k  and renting out each bedroom for around 600 a month the area I'm looking to invest in has 2 major university's and 1 major collage so id be looking to rent to students , I do not have enough money to put down a conventional 20% down payment for an investment property so id have to put down 5-10 percent down with Mortgage insurance and put it as my primary residence but realistically I wouldn't be living there.  I would like to get some opinions or advice on this idea and what you guys think? 

Hey there- 1. Welcome to BP! and 2.) couple questions for you... Have you done the research to find out if its reasonable to purchase a 4-6 bedroom property in Ontario for $200-300K? Sometimes there is the dream and then there's the reality, so just making sure that's possible. Also, have you looked up what rents go for? Would you rent to one family or multiple people in the same home? You can find out rents at rent-o-meter.com, although I'm not sure they service Canada. Additionally, have you considered closing costs, repairs, maintenance, taxes and utilities? All good things to consider when you're running the numbers. I know because I run investment properties for clients in Denver and Colorado Springs, and these are items to consider. Likewise, what metric is most important (cap rate, cash on cash, cash flow, etc.?)