Starting out in real estate

37 Replies

Hi Everyone!

My name is Stacy. I am new to BiggerPockets. My husband and I are interested and starting to learn about real estate investment. We would like to purchase a single family home out of CA as it it too expensive here. We have two beautiful kids, Jordan and Hanna. Our income is not sufficient for us to take care of our family so we would like to get into real estate to help us build wealth for retirement and college funds for our kids. We have been listening to BiggerPockets podcasts and would appreciate any mentor or advises we could get from this group. Our family truly appreciate it. Thank you! 

Stacy, Welcome to BP! One thing you guys should pursue is a duplex-quadplex investing as this will give far greater Return on investment. With single family you have one unit supporting one mortgage, With a quadplex that's 4 units supporting the paydown of one mortgage. Not only will this put more money in your pocket, but depending on your goals, you can paydown the debt far faster with this method. Indianapolis & Philadelphia have properties ripe for the picking right now for rentals, and appreciation in those areas may be substantial in the near future.

Good luck

Hi @Stacy La Pineda and welcome to BP!  A lot of us west coast investors invest out of state, as I have since 2012.  When you go out of your area, you have to be particularly keen to choose an on the ground team that you can rely on to look after your interests.  Nothing is more important than the property management for the long term success of your rental.

Larry Fried, Real Estate Agent in OR (#201211636)

Hi Stacy,

Also new here just reading through all the different intro forums here as well. Welcome to BP!

If i may jump in here really quick to ask, @Larry Fried , how did you find your ground team? I too would like to do some out of state investing since I'm a little fish living in Brooklyn. I feel like so much of it gets chalked up to luck...