Buying investment properties with minimal downpayment

16 Replies

I'm just starting out by purchasing a 4-bedroom house on an FHA loan with great interest rate in 01/2018.

I do want to buy other properties with minimal downpayment possible. I know I'm only allowed one FHA loan, and I can convert my current FHA loan to conventional thenrent out, and then take out another FHA loan as owner-occupied.

My biggest issue is the interest rate! I currently have a great rate on FHA, and refinancing into conventional could raise my monthly payment by a couple of hundred bucks.

Question is can I purchase an investment property right now with 20% down, then move out of my FHA after 1-yr to the "investment property" and then refi it as owner-occupied and cash out my 20% downpayment put into it to LTV of 95% and use the funds to buy another property?

My goal is to keep my great rate FHA, and still able to buy other properties until rates drop!

You could do that, but are you gaining anything by doing it? The multi, I'm assuming, is a less expensive place to live than moving into the investment property. So, unless you need the space, I don't know that it will be much of a financial benefit.
(267) 520-0454
Never mind, I misread and thought you had an FHA on a multi family. Yes, that is something you can do, just make sure the 4 bed cash flows with the FHA.
(267) 520-0454

..so I can convert an investment property to an owner-occupied and pull out my 20% downpayment in cashout? Also, is it legal to convert an FHA loan to a full rental after 1-yr without any issues?

Originally posted by @Mikky Alfaz :

I'm just starting out by purchasing a 4-bedroom house on an FHA loan with great interest rate in 01/2018.

I do want to buy other properties with minimal downpayment possible. I know I'm only allowed one FHA loan, and I can convert my current FHA loan to conventional thenrent out, and then take out another FHA loan as owner-occupied.