Perfect Opportunity. Horrible Timing

4 Replies

I have been presented with a heck of an opportunity and I am hoping I can get some advice here. 

I am a REALTOR and recently listed a group of 8 apartments. Very nice, built in 1998.  

The owner of the property is a friend of my family and has recently offered me a killer deal on purchasing the properties.  Way to good of a deal to pass up.  At the moment, my credit score is poor and really dont have any cash to put down.  I do have a family member with excellent credit score that would be willing to help me get established.  I am looking for some advice on how I could still make this deal happen.  If anyone would like to help a sister out and help guide me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it!

A little more to add to my question. Appraised at 440,000 in 2011 and purchasing it at 240,000.  Annual expenses about 13000 ( tax and ins). 8 apartments rent for $550 each 7 of 8 rented

@Amanda Smith - you're right, this does sound like a great opportunity!  Connections like this surely make a good deal easier to come by.

I would first find out why the owner is selling and if any major repairs need to be done to the property.  The numbers seem like a fantastic investment.  

What about owner financing?  Since he/she is a family friend, the owner might be willing to go this route.  This is simply where you make payments to the owner instead of a bank or lender.  Of course, you would negotiate the down payment, interest rate, monthly payment amount, length of term, etc.  

Hi Amanda,

Sounds like you need a credit partner AND a cash partner to do the deal conventionally... Is owner willing to hold the note with very little down being it is acquaintance? Probably not but worth a shot.... You can get very creative - justs depends how open minded the seller is