Does the BRRRR method exist with turnkeys?

20 Replies

Hi, I am VERY new to REI. Thus far I have read a few books, practiced analyzing properties, scoured Zillow, Craigslist & the MLS, spent hours on BP and secured a HELOC. I am convinced there is money to be made but I live on Long Island and I haven't been able to get even 1 property's numbers to "work". I am considering out-of-state and have looked at numerous markets (Birmingham, Kansas City, Baltimore, etc). My question is: does the BRRRR method work with true turnkey properties? I would love to hear from some successful out-of-state and/or turnkey investors. Thank you!

Not usually because turnkey, by definition, has no value add. You are buying at, or near, retail price, so there is no way to force the value higher through renovation.

they cannot be the same, based on definition alone.

the BRRRR itself means: buy, REHAB, RENT, refi, and repeat. With a turnkey the house is already rehabbed and rented.

The rehab is where all the money is made, or rather, buying distressed leaves enough spread to rehab and make some profit. When you buy at retail price like with turnkey you are giving up all that value-add profit in exchange for ease of entry.

only way for that to work is to buy from a turnkey operator who left a large margin of profit in the deal, which no good investor would do.

BRRRR - if you want to extract massive margins out of a property by taking on a project many others might be willing to attempt

Turnkey - easiest possible way to get into a rental, but you'll get returns equivilent to the hard work you put in the deal:  Minimal

Most times when you buy turnkey you are buying with negative equity because you're buying in areas where investors are taking over predominantly owner occupied areas for the 1% rule. Tenant occupied properties degentrify owner occupied areas because they don't have a vested financial interest like an owner occupant.