Starting in a hot market

9 Replies

Hey everyone,

I am new to investing and hoping to invest in my first property in or around the Boise, ID area within the next 3 months. I have very little capital, good credit, and a continually growing REI education base. The market is especially hot here in Boise, but I know there are always deals out there.

I am interested in the BRRRR strategy, as well as flipping, but I am hoping to gain some narrowed insight on what strategy and niche would be best to start out with given my circumstances. Any advice??

Best!

Jordan Campbell

Hey Jordan, Congrats on wanting to get into REI.

What do you mean by very little capital? Do you have enough for a 3.5% down payment with an FHA loan?

Do you currently rent?  Have yo considered House Hacking?

Have you read @Scott Trench 's book Set For Life?

I'm making some assumptions, but if I can give any advice, it would be read Set For life, commit to a plan with a deadline and read "The One Thing" by Gary Keller.  Then follow a combined plan of The One Thing and Set For Life with deadlines/goal dates.

The last thing you want to do is look back at this moment a year from now and realize you are in the exact same financial position as today.

The BP community is great for education and advice but taking action is the best thing to do.  I know from inaction.

Hi @Jordan Campbell - It was so great to connect with you at the meet up the other night.  You are definitely on the path to taking action!   @Scott Hibbert 's recommendation of Scott Trench's Set for Life is another book I didn't think to mention.  Definitely should be a must read for ya!  I am excited to see where your journey takes you..as I know you'll be successful.  

either house hack or continue to save for a down payment if you want to invest in buy and hold.  If you want to flip, learn a lot about rehabs and the prices of common rehab items, then start talking to hard money lenders and get your financing sorted out.