My first rental property

10 Replies

Hello! 
As that im new to the game and this is my first post on BiggerPockets i whould like to aske some questions about Rental properties.

What are you looking for in a rental? everyone is looking for ''that'' property that gives you cash-flow, but how do you know if the property have good cash-flow?

Is it a good idea starting of with a property that have  2 or more units and use one of them myself? (House hacking)

When should i ''evolve'' to buy a second property?

I know this is alot of questions at ones, but im trying to building a educational fundation for my investing future =) 
Best regards

Hi Nikolai, welcome to BP! I want ~$1,000/month per door in cash flow, with each door costing <$100k. 

To determine cash flow I always subtract the following from my Gross monthly income: Insurance, vacancy, maintenance, mortgage, management, taxes, utilities, capex.  

As for your other questions- identify your long term goals and adjust your investment strategy to push you towards that end. 

Best of luck!

Hey Nikolai,

I always recommend to people looking to start in real estate to buy a small multi-family (2-4) units first. Especially if you’re planning on moving into one. You can get away with putting 3.5% down and still possibly cash flow. 

If you're looking for your first single family (SFR) buy and hold property I like to use the 1% rule. If the property will rent for 1% of the purchase price or more you're usually going to cash flow. There are exceptions so run your numbers.

Hope this helps and good luck!

Mike

Thanks Victor! 

So when you say $1,000/month per door cash flow. Is this after you subtract all the expenses?

Can i then estimate the cash flow of  a property before i buy it, by simply estimate the monthly income per door and subtract the expenses? 
If so this whould be a great tool to use!