Advise for fellow newbie

7 Replies

Hey BP community I need some help. I'm a 22-year-old recent college graduate who has a passion for learning about real estate. I'm thinking of getting into house hacking as my first investment, and continue on through rental properties. My current job right now is decent pay, but not guaranteed as it's a temp position, and I'm not learning anything as it's mostly labor work. I was unemployed for a while and this current job is basically week to week.

Currently living in my mother's basement, all I want to do is learn, network and help out as many people as possible, and possibly get a job that could dive me into the real estate field. I started studying to get my real estate license, as becoming a realtor may the route I need to pursue.

What would you guys do in my position? Should I wait to get a solid job so I can start efficiently saving for a multi-family property to house hack in? And what job would work best with diving into the real estate field while all I have is a sports management degree? I'm open to any feedback/opportunities

Thank You

I'm going to make a few assumptions. 1) You are a smart guy; you got through college. 2) But more importantly it shows you can stick long term to a goal and do the things necessary to achieve that goal. 3) You probably have some college debt, little income and no credit. So, here is your ticket to more wealth than you can dream of. It takes time. It takes consistency and it takes persistence. But, you'll get there.

SOLUTION: 

1) Join a local Real Estate Investment Group * Here is one: Holiday Inn Virginia Beach Norfolk Hotel and Conference Center 5655 Greenwich Road Virginia Beach VA 23462
Meeting Time: Third Tuesday, 7pm-9pm doors open at 6:30 Contact Information: Luke Kohne
*800*874*4976

2) Contact them and get involved (or ask for one located near where you are)