I want to buy my first property @ the age of 21 and need advice!

23 Replies

I have been listening to biggerpockets since 2 years ago at the age of 19. I have probably listened to 85% of the podcasts throughout. I didnt want to invest right away because I wanted to make sure to save up a nest and build up my income with a stable job before jumping right into real estate investing. That being said, I have saved up over $55,000 living with my parents with roughly $20k of that invested in other assets. I make $50k/year and have roughly ~$35,000 to invest into real estate that I can get access to right away. My credit score is 766 and I am looking forward into possibly investing into a cashflowing duplex- triplex in the PORTLAND OREGON- SEATTLE WA Region. That being said, I am feel I am stuck with the question facing "Where do I start"? I dont know how to properly find deals. I also have to mention I will do all the rehab myself as soon as I get a property.  

@Daniel Vasilyuk 1.) contact a number of realtors.  2.) get your financing lined up and ready to go --> speak with a lender (or several).  

Once both a realtor and lender are sorted, you'll know exactly what is available and what you can afford.  The rest is easy.

Hey Daniel, 

You are probably looking at the Portland area as Seattle multifamily real estate is probably going to be too pricy to start out with your current income and savings. I started buying fixers when I was 26 and like you, did much of the work myself. I have a couple preferred lenders I could out you in touch with. 

Do you have a cashflow spreadsheet you are familiar with? If not I could also send you the one I use to calculate the potential of a property. 

I'd be happy to meet up and go over the process and key things that I look for when buying an investment multifamily. Let me know if that would interest you. 

Cheers, 

Seth Prickett 

@Daniel Vasilyuk Congrats on deciding to start investing in such early age!