24 years old, 35k a year but good saver - do I buy a property?

11 Replies

I am 24 years old currently making 35k a year living in New Jersey. I don't make a lot of money but have managed to save 17k in a little less than 2 years. I want to invest in a multi family property but am hesitant to do so considering New Jersey is very expensive, I am a young female (this may be a problem when dealing with renters) and my future is very much so undetermined as I am just starting out in the "adult world." 

I have done research but am still on the fence about how much to have in the bank before purchasing a rental home. I have heard it is recommended to have at least 50k (or absolutely nothing depending on who you ask). 

Did anyone else start out young and a little unstable when buying real estate? Thanks! 

That’s awesome to be able to save up 25% of your income, while living in the NYC area. Tough to do!

I have friends making significantly higher incomes in that region (late 20s/early 30s) who are not able to save a penny.

Sounds like you have the discipline. Young/female is all relative. You just gotta learn and own it. Just because you’re someday going to wake up and be 30 doesn’t mean people will be nicer or easier to deal with.

Beyond that, depends on your current market, and what is available. You’ll need to put in some leg work on that and start analyzing individual deals out there. Eventually it will click as to what opportunities make sense. Also NJ kind of stinks because of property taxes being crazy. 

Your other option is to consider buying an SFR and just renting rooms in your home to roommates, in case you can't snag a multi-family.