What are the most important questions to ask a Realtor?

11 Replies

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. Being that I'm just starting out I'm feeling overwhelmed in the local market, I plan on looking to invest about 1.5 hours away in the Sacramento area. I have an upcoming trip and will be scheduling a couple of meeting with realtors. I plan to look into multifamily properties.

What are the most important questions a new investor should be asking an agent to determine that that want to work with them?

Hi Jessica, 

Easily the first question I would ask them is if they work with investors on a regular basis, not just a one off here and there.  

If they say yes let them keep talking if they say no then politely run the other way. 

Good luck,

Jeb

1 - How many HUD offers have they made?

2 - Will they make all the offers you want based on your needs (offer price), and not based on what it will take to get the property.

3 - Will they make the offers before you have visited the property.

Can you get me daily mls email listings

Do you have the time to do showings quick without a loaded down schedule that could make me lose hot deals

Are you willing to do comps on properties and get
The back story on houses

Can you find me off market deals not found on the mls

@Jessica Scott

I work extensively with Bay Area investors like yourself looking to buy multifamily in the Sacramento area (still operate there with a team), and can tell you there are some specific things your agent is going to need to know to help you accomplish this.

1) Ask them how many investors they have helped purchase multifamily properties

This is not a single family or owner occupied scenario. Way different ball game. They need to understand exactly what it is that you're trying to accomplish. If they don't do these type of transactions on the regular, it'll be the blind leading the blind.

2) Ask them what metrics are most important when buying MFH investment property