Real estate beginners question: What would you do with $200,000?

10 Replies

I would buy 10 single family homes and max out the amount of mortgages that you can have under your name.

10 single family homes out of state will be $70,000 each and cash flow $200/mo in net cash flow.

$15,000 down per property would be $150,000 down to make $2,000 a month in net cash flow.

I would then take that cash flow and use it to pay down the properties over time to eventually own these properties with all cash. 

Originally posted by @Daniel Pickford :

I have $200,000 and I want to turn it into a passive income.
Since it's my first time in the real estate world, what would you recommend to be the best way to start and the best thing to do in my situation?

Read, study, listen then read and study some more. Decide which kind of investor you want to be (SFR, Commercial, Land, Tax Liens, Passive, HML, Multi-Family, Notes, Fix & Flip, Buy & Hold, "Subject To", apartments, duplexes, assisted living, REOs, Foreclosures, Short Sales), etc. Decide how much money you have access to, & the zip codes, city or state you want to focus on. That will determine the next step. Outline where you want to be in five years. Put it all in writing. Start working your plan. There are plenty of people around to help you each step of the way. Personally I wouldn't spend more than a thousand on training and seminars. Most people learn by doing and you can get everything you need to know by partnering with someone once you figure out what kind of investor you want to be.

I would read the other gazillion threads that are the exact same.

I would also not advertise having $200k on a public forum.

Use the money with the BRRRR strategy. Make cash offers to get better deals, rehab, rent, refinance and repeat. I’m on deal #3 of this process and it works.