How has becoming a landlord changed you?

21 Replies

Hello my favorite community! How has becoming a landlord changed you? This is my first year being a landlord. I have to say, being a landlord has changed my life and how I look at others. I’ve learned very quickly that people will step all over you if you don’t take a stand. Also, I’ve become more selective with people I bring into my properties and into my life. I’ve had to evict people and that made me a little less tolerant of people’s BS. Just to name a few examples. Looking back when I first researched REI I was naive, I had no clue what I was in for. Now, I get what the veterans are saying a little bit more. I’m only scratching the surface and I can’t wait to share my experiences with you all.
Originally posted by @Nick Rutkowski :
Hello my favorite community! How has becoming a landlord changed you?

This is my first year being a landlord. I have to say, being a landlord has changed my life and how I look at others. I’ve learned very quickly that people will step all over you if you don’t take a stand. Also, I’ve become more selective with people I bring into my properties and into my life. I’ve had to evict people and that made me a little less tolerant of people’s BS. Just to name a few examples.

Looking back when I first researched REI I was naive, I had no clue what I was in for. Now, I get what the veterans are saying a little bit more. I'm only scratching the surface and I can't wait to share my experiences with you all.