Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Roger Chan
Votes |
Taking a HELOC for 2nd home/move-up home (SF Bay Area)

Roger Chan
Posted Jul 9 2018, 16:37

Hi guys, newbie here but I've been watching a few youtube videos and a boss actually recommended the Bigger Pockets PodCast and the world of real estate investment has mesmerized me and I thought I'd pose the question you see in the subject line above, I'm wondering if its feasible to buy a move-up property using a HELOC and renting out my current condo that I live in here in the SF Bay Area.

I figure I'd start small with just renting out my condo and seeing how that goes. But a little about my situation:

I Bought a new 1 bedroom condo in 2012 here in San Jose for $360K. In the 6 years of ownership, the area around it developed and has greatly appreciated. 1 bedrooms currently are selling for around $800-$825K (rough numbers from Redfin/Zillow). Mortgage+HOA is $2000 combined. Local Rentals and new luxury apartments are renting for $3200 a month for something of similar square footage. People renting out their condo in my complex is also around $2800+ being so close to shops like Target and Trader Joe's...and rumors of google moving in next door and being next to a major transportation HUB, the prices are justified here in Silicon Valley.

So my question is, is it a bad idea or is it even possible to obtain a HELOC to obtain a 20% down on a new "move-up" home? While I would ideally like to stay in San Jose but new townhomes start at $950K+ and older homes and even fixer uppers have bidding wars and I just don't want to deal with that for a "move-up" home. While I know people will suggest investing out of state, I am looking for an upgrade property for myself while renting out my Condo because its in such a prime location, I would HATE to sell just so I can buy. I mean, Bart and High Speed Rail is also making its way to where my condo is located.