Paid Mentors? Yay or Nay ???

23 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Chasity and I am wanting to start working in real estate, doing wholesale mainly until I start building up my company. I am really needing instruction and hoping to speak with people who know more and can assist me. Well I just was in touch with someone who offered to mentor me for $1,000 a month for a year, she walks me through it all (using her tools & office staff) we split 50/50 each deal. I would love to have someone like this, to help with all of my worries... but 1.) I am starting out and that is a lot for me to come up with 2.) Is this a good rate for a mentor? I'm not sure since I've never done this before.... HELP ????

@Chasity Couch   

i believe it's a good deal if you're the mentor.  not so much if you're the student.  i know that i have helped people, and tried to answer questions along my real estate path.  i have also found some investors (not all though are willing of course) that are ahead of me in the real estate game, and have helped me.  i would not have been able to afford 1k per month when i started out.  then to give up 50% of the deal on top of that.  seems a bit much to me.  that's just my opinion.  best of luck.

adam

If you can't afford 1k per mo, then real estate investments might not be a good idea. That's 12k/yr which doesn't take you very far either as a down payment or remodel/construction costs. There are plenty of other ways you can get involved though...if you have the time knowledge is free and not hard to find. 

Again, this assumes that this person's ideas align with your etc... investments aren't a one size fits all...

@Chasity Couch