Jobs that help real estate

5 Replies

As a college student graduating next year, I have been trying to learn as much as possible about real estate through books, podcasts, and any other outlet that offers help. I am currently studying finance at school, and like many students am not really sure what I want to do after I graduate. What I do know, is that I want to be self-employed. I would like to get a job out of college that will help me do this, specifically in the real estate industry.

As mentioned, I am a Finance major at the University of Iowa. My question to bigger pockets is what do you recommend for a job that would help me in the future of real estate investing? Thank you all for your help and enjoy the weekend!

@Sean Liszka - Awesome that you are catching onto this real estate bug so early. 

Here is my recommendation:

1. Work for a real estate investor. Go to your local REIA, message people on BiggerPockets in your area, and try to find a job helping an investor out. The amount you'll learn from this investor will be worth far more than whatever you get paid.

2. Get your real estate license while in school. That way when you get out you can hit the ground running. When joining a brokerage, join one with great mentorship.

3. Property Management - Find yourself a property management company. I would suggest trying to find a smaller one. That way it feels less corporate and you'll likely have more interaction with property managers and investors who know more than you. 

There are a whole bunch of ways, but I would say those would be my top 3. I would worry less about how much you get paid and more about how much you can learn at this stage. 

That's it right there. The above. @Craig Curelop .

1. Real Estate License
2. Meet people and learn the biz.
3. Learn property management.

I've been a PM for over 10 years, on no day is it like you think it is.

Oh, and save every penny so you can invest.