How to start investing as a 22year old new grad

8 Replies

Hey guys ! I live in St.Louis ,Im 22 years old & im a new grad respiratory therapist although I work a great job I have been curious about real estate . I want to be able to buy, renovate, and rent properties. Im using this post to reach out to anyone who can give me financial advice as fast as saving and a few tips as a first time buyer . Thank you in advance to anyone who replies !

welcome. Im from the Lou as well.  save up that initial 20% for a conventional down payment, have another 20-30 % for repairs and emergency funds.  Contact the banks. Pick your strategy  , then go after it !

@Dymond Burnett Welcome! You can always start out by “house hacking” and first-time home buyers can put as little as 3.5% downpayment. With lower downpayments, however, it’s much more important to buy smart (buying below market value) and think of ways to add value to the property. Hope this helps!
Originally posted by @Matthew Filepp :
@Dymond Burnett Welcome! You can always start out by “house hacking” and first-time home buyers can put as little as 3.5% downpayment. With lower downpayments, however, it’s much more important to buy smart (buying below market value) and think of ways to add value to the property. Hope this helps!

I was afraid to look at homes below market value in my area thinking that they would not attract a buyer. What kind of things should I look at when choosing a property to add value to ?

Originally posted by @Alex Young :

welcome. Im from the Lou as well.  save up that initial 20% for a conventional down payment, have another 20-30 % for repairs and emergency funds.  Contact the banks. Pick your strategy  , then go after it !

Hey neighbor! So I should find the property first, save atleast 40% to be safe, then contact banks to see what my buying options are. Also , have you had experience buying here ?