Aspiring Duplex Buyer in Atlanta, GA

7 Replies

I would like to know, if someone can refer me to a Realtor who has experience (and patience) in helping a first time buyer of a duplex here in Atlanta or surrounding counties? It will be my first mortgage ever. This has been a goal of mine for quite sometime and I would love some personal guidance. My lease isn't up until December so that is the month I plan on taking my leap, but I want to get a head start on finding someone amazing to work with. As far as financing, I plan to obtain an FHA loan or I may go through Navy Federal ( 100% Homebuyers Choice Mortgage option) as a member.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Felicia, I'm a realtor located in Atlanta and I would be happy to help. I can set you up on an MLS search so you can see what properties are available. I always recommend looking early to get an idea of the market.

Hello and welcome to this part of the site Felicia!  Unfortunately, I must ask you why are buying a duplex as as rental unit.  The more units, the better because a vacancy would not force you to an unpleasant leave, especially with one or two units where the percentages are  different greatly on vacancy.  As you probably know that there is a difference of the down payment.  If you can afford it, I suggest a 203K loan so you can possibly start off with some equity.

If you invest in a 3 or 4 unit house where you can still get a 203K residential loan with a FHA loan through an "approved" Bank. That house has a minimal occupancy condition to live there for 12 months typically.You can either keep that loan or refinance it if you want to do it again (a 203k Loan).

There is a better chance that the paying tenants will partially or completely eliminate your rent and make the debt payment and there is a better chance that the value of that property will go up which would help out your chance to refinance.