North Carolina investing

11 Replies

Hi!

I am new to investing and currently living in NJ. I am looking to invest out of state and will be makin a trip to North Carolina soon to begin getting familiar with the Raleigh area. 

Any suggestions on towns to visit or check out? Either looking for single family or duplex. 

Originally posted by @Roseann DeRosa :

Hi!

I am new to investing and currently living in NJ. I am looking to invest out of state and will be makin a trip to North Carolina soon to begin getting familiar with the Raleigh area. 

Any suggestions on towns to visit or check out? Either looking for single family or duplex. 

It all depends on what your goals are, your budget, the radius out from Raleigh that you're interested in, whether you are looking for high-income or working-class or low-income tenants, urban or rural, and more.  Give us Carolinians a little more info and we can offer more targeted suggestions.

Fayetteville, Fayetteville and Fayetteville. It's a military town so there are always renters (over 50% of the town). Military members don't want to buy since they can be required to move for work. That can scare some people, but the army doesn't like to move people unless they can keep them there for at least 3 years so you don't have to worry about them moving in and being sent away quickly. There's also a few colleges to provide renters in parts of town. Houses are cheap as well. 

I kind of get why new investors look for cheaper properties in smaller cities / towns but you also need to keep in mind, that yes, you can get property in Greensboro for half the price then in Raleigh, but also your appreciation will be much less. Eg. Greensboro market went up about 35% since 2000, while Raleigh market is up over 70% (Based on Trualia market trends stats)