New and need a little guidance on Rental Property around MSP

4 Replies

Hey Bigger Pocket People, I am Swaroop. I live in Eagan Minnesota.

I am looking for my first rental property. I want to house-hack and look to get an FHA loan, . I have a family of 7. I am fairly new to this, but I understand the concepts. I am battling within myself, because even though I feel I understand the concepts, I have no clue where to start. I'm not sure whether I should work on my credit first or what. 

Please guide me to chose the Condos or Townhomes under 200K with in the suburb areas of Plymoth,Eden Prairie, Edina, Eagan. in Minnesota State.

Thanks

Swaroop

Hmm, I don't know the ins and outs of Eagan - but you need to.

What areas are up and coming?

Which areas are safe enough for your family?

Which areas has a pocket of affordability?

Create a Venn diagram on a map and find your sweet spot.

Spend some time checking your gut impression, then check with others.

Trust your own instincts first.

Best to you

First place I would start is with your banker to see if you have the income and credit to qualify.  Housing a family of 7 on that budget is going to be tough in Plymouth and Eden Prairie, impossible in Edina, and I am not sure about Eagan....  

If you are looking at condos and townhomes it may be worth looking into whether they have rules on how many people can live in a single unit.  Also, not sure how you define family but many cities have rules limiting the amount of unrelated people living in a single residence.  This may be an issue if your family includes friends.