How long did it take you to get your first deal?

8 Replies

So I am new to the real estate investing game, and my journey started back in June. That's when I first read Rich Dad Poor Dad, and then joined BP later that month. Since then I have read multiple books, my favorite so far is the Millionaire Real Estate Investor, and been soaking up as much information as possible. I have also partnered with a real estate agent, and have been looking at properties.

1. My question to the BP Community is how long did it take you before you bought your first property?
  2. What contributed to that timeline?
  3. Looking back is there one thing you wish you would have changed before buying your first property?

Became interested in REI last August, read RDPD soon after and a couple other books, but I really learned the most from BP forums and podcasts. We got our first 3 units back in June. They were mostly turn key. Looking back, I would have done BRRRR strategy from the beginning because those first 2 properties used up a good chunk of money for conventional loan down payments which we cannot access anymore. Moving forward we are looking to do BRRRR deals - I think we were too afraid of the rehab initially.

@Tristan Colborg

1. My question to the BP Community is how long did it take you before you bought your first property? I was an accidental landlord in 2009
  2. What contributed to that timeline? I realized that there was a delta in the rental income and what I paid for PITI.
  3. Looking back is there one thing you wish you would have changed before buying your first property? Talk to other engineers or high networth investors to see what they do
@Brian Dickerson Brian great work getting to 3 units. I definitely want to lean more towards the BRRRR strategy as well because I don't want my initial capital tied up so long. I have been telling this to my agent as well when looking at properties, but haven't found the right one yet.