Looking for my first deal in DFW

5 Replies

Hi BP,

I'm completely new to the world of real estate investing and I'm looking for my first deal. I've spent the last couple months listening to Bigger Pockets, getting to know my local market (Dallas), and researching financing deals and other processes. I plan to use hard money and private lending to fund a flip. Is anyone willing to give me some general advice. I've been analyzing Zillow listings incessantly for past month but I'm trying to find a way to expedite the process. Should I absolutely be talking to a real estate agent even when looking for value add properties? I feel like I could ramble on for a while but maybe someone can provide with my next (really first) actionable step. Anything specific to DFW would be great.

Thanks,

Colby

@Colby Fogg I can give you the complete unbiased opinion as I'm an agent who tends to stay clear of flips. I'm pretty "anti" HML and private lending... since in the DFW market the homes that come about are just not good enough to make me want to go out and use other funds. Personally I'm more of a buy and hold investor/extraordinaire.

Do you need to work with an agent? Absolutely not. Would it help you? It really depends - agent to agent... some agents will say they are "investor friendly" or know what they're talking about - when in reality they don't. It's going to be hard to find a flip opportunity ON MARKET - most of the deals that people are snatching up are off market - and even then... if they're good enough to be flipped, why is a wholesaler giving you the opportunity to flip them? Obviously the quick $5-10k may be nice - but if anyone knows what they're doing... and an opportunity falls into their lap where they can make $50k or more - it's definitely worth the work.