Buying my first property-House Hacking

14 Replies

Hello,

I am just getting started in Real Estate and am eager to buy my first property. I intend on buying a multi-family home and living in one of the units. I am currently working on my credit and saving money for a down payment. I plan on getting a FHA loan at 3.5%. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on certain things I should be looking for in the property. Should it be in great condition or should I go for something lower price that needs some rehabbing? How do I get extra money for the rehabbing? Also, after I develop cash flow from this property, how do I move onto the next property to make money?

Thanks!!!

Thanks Orlando! As a newbie, I’m looking to understand the best way to go about house hacking and then move onto the next property and create a consistent cash flow. Please share any advice or stories that could point me in the right direction. Thankyou!

Jacksonville, as in downtown, or suburbs, or any of the four surrounding counties? just wondering...

Buying something that needs work, house hack and airbnb it monthly rental is a way to go...Jax has a monthly tenant need too, or you can do annual lease too of course....you  said multifamily, t, I assume duplex, or 2+ bedroom single door, and rent out rooms..

live in it for a year+ and refi cash out, repeat...

hold it long enough for equity, some finc. places are doing a heloc on an investment property as opposed to requiring it to be owner occupied.., LOC are better than refi's if it applies to you come time..

BBVA bank has an un unusual good loan going on for first time.. there might be rehab loan built into it.. so as for getting rehab money, there isa rehab loan out there...or can use extra rent for fixing things upgrades..

(buyers are slowly coming back into having a little more advantage, as fall 3q-4quarter season comes upon us)