My Mother's Old Duplex - Keep or Sell?

3 Replies

Hey Everyone,

I’m hoping to get some advice on my mother’s situation. I’ve been attempting to deal with this for the past several years and can’t seem to develop a strategy that I’m confident with. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• My mother owns (no mortgage) a duplex in Massachusetts. She has lived in the property her entire life and inherited it from her parents.
  • The duplex is very old and has not been well maintained. It needs a lot of work (on both side)
  • The tenant has lived in the apartment for over 30 years and my mother has failed to raise the rent since 1987. She is losing at least $1,200 per month because of this.
  • My mother is 65 years old making minimum wage and has very little savings or retirement money. She essentially lives paycheck to paycheck.
  • My brother and sister both want to sell the property and get my mother into a smaller house because they feel like the property is a money pit and not worth keeping.
  • I think this would be a perfect opportunity to start my career in real estate. I would like to move my mother into a smaller house while renting both sides of the duplex. Here are the issues that I keep struggling with:
    • How do you tell a tenant of 30 years that you want to raise the rent by $1,200 ?
    • The property needs approximately $100,000 in repairs to be able to rent both sides at market value. None of us have the money and we would need to take out a new mortgage to get my mother into a smaller home.
    • There is lots of code issues with the property (I’m an Architect). Asbestos Shingles, Asbestos pipe insulation in the basement, Extremely steep staircases, etc. Are we opening ourselves to a huge liability?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

1) You tell them in the form of a letter. Better yet, you terminate their month to month tenancy to renovate, if you have the financial capacity to do so.