Austin Househack- SFH and ADU

9 Replies

Hi! My name is Sarah, and I just moved to Austin from Chicago. I am a consultant, and am currently paying $1,800/month for a one bedroom in east Austin. I have been very interested in buying a tiny home once my lease ends but strugggled wIth where to park it. Then i started to read about individuals buying a single family home and adding a ADU. I am interested in renting out the SFH and living in the ADU, and was thinking east Austin since I love it here. I have steady income & great credit score but no money saved up. Is this an option for me? What would the first steps be?
@Sarah Schmidt There’s down payment assistance programs but you can also find existing sfh with an ADU which would be the more cost effective way to going about things. I just bought a 3/1 sfh in east Austin with a 1/1 in the backyard!

@sarah 

@Sarah Schmidt Most homes you find with an existing ADU is not a deal in ltv terms. You typically need to buy a house zoned for an adu and construct it yourself to realize any equity. If you are buying a sfh in Austin there are many variables to look at. Location, taxes, ins, dn pmt, land restrictions, loan program.

Do you have to be downtown? 

@Danny Webber I strongly disagree. Constructing a new ADU over rehabbing something existing would be much less cost effective in most cases. Not to mention you’d need to be well versed on zoning when looking for a property.

@Jordan Moorhead There is no way on earth buying an already constructed/renovated house with ADU in Austin is more affordable than buying a house and doing your own ADU right now..... Unless someone is having a fire sale which they are not or if someone gets screwed over during construction... Other than that you will pay 100% LTV for an already constructed ADU w/ house vs buying a house and building at a lower cost per sqft then the ARV value will be which is very doable.