Votes
Maurice Webb
  • Red Oak, TX
Votes |
Financing Multiple Properties at once?

Maurice Webb
  • Red Oak, TX
Posted Sep 13 2018, 19:48

Hello everyone! I hope you all are doing well!

Full disclosure, I am completely new to Real Estate Investing and when I say "completely new", I mean asking the most basic questions that may seem like a no-brainer for most others that have been in the game for six months or more. I live by the creed of "ask the 'dumb' question now so I won't make a 'dumber' mistake later." So here goes...

My wife and I were just plotting our path forward as we continue to research various aspects of REI. I read quite a bit about Hard Money and Private Money Lenders, as well as the pro's and con's of using them. To be completely honest, I wasn't sure if going that route would be in our best interest right now as beginners in this industry. So as a 'safer' bet, we decided that using FHA loans with a 30 year-fixed would be our best option since we intend to buy and hold. Mid-conversation, I had a strange idea.

I was explaining the benefits of a Private Money Lender (or Hard Money Lender) when it hit me. I wonder if I can use a Private Money Lender to secure the down payment on several properties and use an FHA loan to finance them? So here's how it played out in my head.

1) Get a loan from a Hard Money Lender for $120k.

2) Find five properties for $100k or less.

3) Use $100k of the $120k loan to make the down payments and keep the other $20k in reserve to cover closing costs and any minor repairs needed for the properties. 

4) Get the properties rented out and within six months to a year, refinance the properties to pay off the original lender.