Rental real estate strategy with 3k monthly savings 15 year loans

37 Replies

I wanna pick some brains here... .. Im saving 3k monthly I have 1 single home property on loan cashflowing 200$ after expenses on 15 year loan.... (self managed) ...

My goal is to Be financially free 15 years down the road(or sooner) which is why i put this first property on 15 year note ..

My main concern is should i go 15 year loans / equity loans / 30 year loans / brrrr method ... for sure though i am a buy and hold mentakikty no flipping here i run/ own a restaurant dont have time for that

I would really like to have a number of loans paid off withing 15 years (15,000$or more cash flow)... I know the term dead money using shorter terms but i do not mind having loans paid off earlier vs 30 year loan even if it means less cash flow i do not need to live off of it now if it means loans getting paid sooner

Again i am new to the game spending lots of time on bigger pockets and listening to podcasts daily ,, go easy on me :)

Its good that you're thinking about this.

15 year loans save money in the long run, but they reduce cashflow.  I am still in an acquisition mode so I want more cashflow now so I can buy my next property every year, so I choose 30 year loans (for 4 or less units).  I also think that interest rates and inflation will likely rise in the future, so a longer term loan will benefit from that as well.

You may appreciate this article by @Scott Trench .  30 or 15

15 year loans lose cash flow...and lose money since the source of the money that shortens the loan comes from you.  This is a really, really basic math formula.  where I find many don't understand is what qualifies the plus/minus numbers.  

Cost is negative...it's that simple.  The confusion is in the "cost".  Interest charges are not cost by virtue of being an interest charge.  They are a cost based on who pays to interest charge, and are a cost ONLY to that person.