My Co-worker wants to invest with me

5 Replies

Hey everyone,

I'm very new to BP (like last week new) and I'm already just so hungry and excited to have found this. 

I am interested in investing in multi-unit properties and was doing a search in my office  when my co-worker came in to chat with me. I told him I want to buy a duplex but I'm trying to figure out the best way and he just casually responded "I'll go in with you, I have 100K just sitting around" as if we were just discussing ordering sandwiches or something. Did I just find my first private lender? Oh the wheels are turning, and I want to do this the BEST way possible, but I'm not too sure where to start.

I'm looking for properties in the 200-300k range: 1.) Do I use the money as down payment and rehab costs and we split the monthly cash flow 2.) Do I just offer a ROI on his investment and keep everything in my name ...

I'm sure there are plenty more options as well, but I would like to get opinions from the group? 

Thanks for reading and happy real estating!!

Jo the first place I would start is to take a real estate investing course in the area you would like to focus on.  Just Google for real estate investment courses.  Starting right here in Bigger Pockets is a good place.

The biggest mistake I see almost EVERYDAY as a lender are new investors who have not taken a training course and learn as they go.  In my opinion, this is a costly and risky why to learn.  Some mistake you just do not have to make.

That's my take Jo.  I wish you the best.

Kind of sounds like dating someone in your office.

It might work out great. You might end up losing your job and the relationship.

I would not instantly say no, but be very very careful.