Cash needed for first rental?

9 Replies

Hello all, I’m just starting out and want to get into rental properties and my question is how much money do you recommend having in savings when starting out? I don’t want to buy my first property only to find out some major expense pops up and I don’t have the savings to cover it. I’m looking at a duplex to fourplex for my first property and just want to make sure I have enough of a safety net before I jump in. Thanks!

I just bought my first duplex, I was advised by @JD Martin to have at least 10k in reserves. Im glad I took his advice, because immediately I had to deal with some unexpected costs. Renovation is about 1k more then I had anticipated (which isn't bad). But I will also have the month of October vacant in one unit. 

The two weeks leading up to the closing, I was hit with some unexpected costs with my dog where he needed surgery. So that cost me about $1500. I was always concerned about having reserves for the house I was buying, but completely disregarded reserves for life outside of RE. Now I know why it is so important, because I may have been in trouble if I didn't take those extra steps to save more. 

@Joshua Ferguson

As a rule of thumb I like to have $5K a door in reserves. You'd be surprised at how quickly that can go in one bad month. I do know some investors that feel comfortable with having $1,500-2,500 in reserves. Starting out I'd recommend having more. Once you have a rental for a while and have made some repairs you should have a better idea of what to expect in terms of repairs. At that point you can decide if you can risk having a little less one or two months if going for that next property. Hope that helps!

- Mike

There is no such thing as having too much saved up, that's what will create opportunities for you.