1st rental property purchase

8 Replies

Hey everyone! So over the last year I've been educating myself hardcore on RE and I think I'm ready to finally jump. I found a decent deal on a 4-plex and wanted to get some thoughts. I am a Army veteran and I am going to be using my VA loan. I anticipate being able get into the deal for 0 out of pocket cash. All four units are rented out with leases on 3 and the 4th is month to month. Being that the va loan requires owner occupancy, I would be giving the month to month tenant a 30 day notice to vacate. The home was built in 1940 but I have checked it out and looks pretty decent. Roof was replaced 5 years ago and looks nice. 3 of the 4 water heaters are under 2 years old. It's definitely not the taj mahal but is very livable. After negotiations, the seller just submitted his final over. Heres the deal: $154,900 purchase price and seller agreed to cover all closing costs. Monthly expenses Mortgage: $840 Taxes: $50 Insurance: $225 Flood insurance: $60 Vacancy of 5%: $107 Cap Ex: $172 Total monthly expenses: $1454 All 4 units generate $2150 3 units rented out with me in the 4th generate $1625 1st year cashflow: $171/month After I move out and can rent out the 4th unit cashflow: $696/month What do you guys think? Have I missed anything?

@Jeremy Swanson congrats for getting started on a house hack. I think the current property sounds reasonably interesting, especially in today's overheated market. I will caution you though, that rents in the 500-600 range typically mean a rougher class of tenant. You didn't state where the property is located, so I don't have much info to go on. Depending on the class of tenant, you may need to up your vacancy percentage and you may have some "bad debt" (rent that is never paid). 

If the place makes sense, I think you should absolutely jump on it. Is there any upside to the deal? Can you raise rents? Do units need cosmetic face lifts?