How would you start?

21 Replies

So I am new to this. I desperately want to start investing so I can make a difference in my life and the life of my family. I want to start either wholesaling or flipping. I am in a cash poor position with really nothing on hand to use on my own.  I dont have a team yet and have no experience at doing any of this. For those who are doing this: What would you advise on how to even start in my position? I will be watching tis coming weeks webinar on the 90 Day Challenge to getting your 1st property before the end of the year. I am reading as much as I can right now and trying to learn. 

@David Medina

Do you own a personal residence? If not, I'd look for a small 2-4 unit multifamily. Put 3.5% down and start investing that way.

If this isn't an option I'd find an out of state market, start networking, and find your first deal that way.

Wholesaling and flipping can be great ways to build cash but if you're tight on funds I'm not sure I'd go that route unless you have construction experience and know the ends and outs that way.

But nothing wrong with starting slow and getting small single family houses out of state and going from there. Hope this helps!

- Mike

I would agree with Mike. If it doesn’t work for you in state then go out of state but make sure you do your du diligence,get an inspector and have pictures and video taken if you honestly can not go to the property . 

So if money is not there, would you recommend a hard money lender on a good deal? I have a friend who is a realtor who is willing to help me look at properties and teach me some things. I have a couple of friends that are investors...had no idea frankly.  I know I have to move slow on this or I could do more harm than good. Michael, with the 2-4 multifamily...are you suggesting a House Hack? 

If you dont have any funds or limited funds then you have the following options:

1. Wholesaling

2. Lease Options

3. Flipping using joint venture partners