House Hack DTI Question - Can you count rental income?

19 Replies

Hi all,  I can't seem to find any definitive answers to this question. I'm looking to purchase my first property with the multi-family (2-4) house hacking strategy (live-in, low money down). Based on my income and a 40% debt to income ratio, I can qualify for about $250,000 in a low money down loan. 

In Richmond, VA, the going rate for most multi is at least $350K. Is it possible that a lender would consider the income from the other units as part of my debt to income?

I have no prior landlord experience and I've seen that most financing requires a 2-year history but I've also seen a few other opinions, so just looking to get something more definitive. 

Thanks in advance!

typically yes. If you could find a local bank who sell notes to Fannie Mae banks or if you can find one that has in house those are the more flexible ones that will work with you and count that toward the debt.

Most traditional lenders will credit you at 75% of your gross rents, but only after you have two years' experience. Your DTI probably isn't too far off from being able to float that for a while. Have you met with a lender? Their goal is to close a loan with you- I'd sit down with someone you like and trust and go over your situation, they'll likely be able to give you specific steps you can take to get approved. Maybe you have a car payment that could go away, either with a pay off or by selling it and downgrading? A credit card you can pay off? There are lots of simple ways to lower your DTI, a good lender will help you get there.

Originally posted by @Corby Goade :